What is the NDIS?

The NDIS offers funding to qualifying persons with disabilities in order for them to spend more time with family and friends, achieve more freedom, obtain access to new abilities, employment, or volunteer in their community, and have a better quality of life. The NDIS also connects people with disabilities to community services. This contains links to physicians, community groups, athletic clubs, support groups, libraries, and schools, as well as information about the services offered by each state and territory government. The NDIS currently assists over 500,000 Australians with disabilities in gaining access to the services and support they require. This involves assisting about 80,000 children with developmental delays in receiving early intervention to ensure the greatest possible results throughout their lives. Read below to see if you’re eligible for NDIS funding.


Eligibility Requirements

You must fulfil the eligibility requirements before you may receive assistance from the NDIS.

To be eligible for the NDIS, you must:

  • You must be under the age of 65.
  • You must be a citizen of Australia, a permanent resident, or have a Protected Special Category Visa (SCV).
  • You must have an impairment that limits your ability to perform daily tasks. The condition must be acknowledged as requiring reasonable and required assistance’ under the NDIS, OR you must be a child under the age of six with a developmental delay that can be minimised with early intervention services.


Age Requirement

If you are above the age of 65, you are not eligible to apply for NDIS support under the NDIS access criteria. This is due to the NDIS, according to its principles, is “part of a broader system of support in Australia, [and] people over 65 should access the aged care system.”

However, if you began getting NDIS benefits before the age of 65, you can continue to receive them until you reach the age of 65 and beyond.


Residence Requirement

When an individual applies for the NDIS, residence criteria apply, and they continue to apply once a person becomes a participant. If you do the following, you will fulfil the residency requirements:

  • Australia is where I call home.
  • Are an Australian citizen, or have a permanent resident visa or a Special Category Visa (SCV).

If you fail to satisfy the residency criteria, your NDIS eligibility may be revoked.


Living with a Disability

You must have a disability that limits your ability to perform daily tasks. Communication, social engagement, learning, mobility, and self-care are all examples of this. The condition must also be acknowledged as requiring reasonable and essential services’ under the NDIS.


Why Solid Holistic Care?

An experienced Registered Nurse developed Solid Holistic Care. It is a rapidly expanding firm that provides person-centred care in participants home, community participation, Short Term or Medium Term accommodation (STA or MTA) and in a supported independent living (SIL) environment.

Solid Holistic Care respects and supports participants’ fundamental right to live independently in their own homes and communities with dignity and respect, as well as choice and inclusion in relation to their support needs, and participants are free to engage an advocate and/or representative of their choice.

Our mission is to provide exceptional services for people with a disability through immaculate support and to empower the people Solid Holistic Care supports to reach their goals and aspirations. If we sound like the right Newcastle NDIS provider for you, then get in contact with the team today!